CMM, the Capability Maturity Model, is collection of instructions designed to help give better control over the software development process. It was originally funded by the US Air force, and first published (as a document titled 'Managing the Software Process') in 1989.

Various revisions have followed, notably in 1991 (CMM v1) and 1993 (CMM v1.1). In 2000 it evolved into CMMI, with the latest version of that being released in 2002. It is managed by the SEI.

CMM defines 5 levels of maturity:

Clearly, the higher numbers are most desirable. Within the model itself, it offers 25 key process areas:
Causal Analysis and Resolution (CAR)
Configuration Management (CM)
Decision Analysis and Resolution (DAR)
Integrated Project Management (IPM)
Integrated Supplier Management (ISM)
Integrated Teaming (IT)
Measurement and Analysis (MA)
Organizational Environment for Integration (OEI)
Organizational Innovation and Deployment (OID)
Organizational Process Definition (OPD)
Organizational Process Focus (OPF)
Organizational Process Performance (OPP)
Organizational Training (OT)
Product Integration (PI)
Project Monitoring & Control (PMC)
Project Planning (PP)
Process and Product Quality Assurance (PPQA)
Quantitative Project Management (QPM)
Requirements Development (RD)
Requirements Management (REQM)
Risk Management (RSKM)
Supplier Agreement Management (SAM)
Technical Solution (TS)
Validation (VAL)
Verification (VER)



W3J is a dedicated portal and archive for technical journals, documents and standards.

CMM Developers
CMM was developed by the SEI (Software Engineering Institute) at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, USA