ITIL, ITSM and ISO20000


The Information Technology Infrastructure Library, ITIL, is a framework of best practices to encourage quality services within the IT sector. It presents a comprehensive set of management procedures for the management of information technology operations.

ITIL emerged in the middle of the 1990's, although it was written originally in the 1980's, and has become the defacto standard for ITSM. It comprises a series of eight books (currently), the subjects of which are known as 'sets'. The sets themselves are sub-divided into 'disciplines', each covering its own defined subject.

The current sets are:
Service Delivery.
Service Support.
Planning to Implement Service Management.
Security Management.
ICT Infrastructure Management.
The Business Perspective.
Application Management.
Software Asset Management.

ITIL also supports a formal training and certification scheme for the individual. Three levels of certification exist:
The ITIL Foundation Certificate
The ITIL Practitioners Certificate
The ITIL Managers Certificate



W3J.Com is a specialist portal and archive for business and technical journals, documents and standards. It is one of the oldest still existing technical sites on the internet, and continues to evolve.

A Short History Lesson
The earliest 'version' of ITIL was actually originally called GITIM, which is 'Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management'. This was published by the CCTA in the 1980s. The 1990s saw ITIL expand rapidly in terms of worldwide adoption, and 2001 saw the publication of ITIL Version 2. "002 saw the upgrade of the related standard BS15000, leading to the publication in 2005 of the ISO20000 service management standard.